Welcome to Wales' Premier Athletic Club
together we are one

Schools champions

Saturday 1 July 2017

The Welsh Schools athletic championships were held in Cardiff today and many Cardiff AAC club members were picking up medals on behalf of their schools.

Double gold medal winners were Ben Hillman (80m hurdles & long jump), Jay Morse (shot put & discus) and Cassey Grimwade (discus & hammer) whose winning hammer throw also broke her own club record as did Jay Morse's discus throw and Lana Culliford's win in the 300m hurdles.

Cardiff AAC winners were:

Senior Girls:  Bethan Evans (1500m); Laura Wright (3000m); Naomi Reid (800m); Rhian Jones (1500m steeplechase).

Senior Boys: Kieran Grimwade (hammer throw); Harry Hillman (pole vault).

Middle Girls: Issie Tustin (100m); Kiara Frizelle (1500m); Lana Culliford (300m hurdles); Bethan Gammon (hammer throw); Megan Hodgson (pole vault).  

Middle Boys: Seth Kelly (400m);Larry Ryan (800m); Morgan James (3000m); Harvey Reynolds (400m hurdles); Tom Britt (long jump); Jay Morse (shot put & discus); Tom Atkinson (triple jump).   

Junior Girls: Emmanuella Kone (100m); Nia Clatworthy (1500m); Cassey Grimwade (hammer throw & discus).

Junior Boys: Ben Hillman (80m hurdles & long jump); Ben Reynolds (1500m); Lloyd Clarke (javelin).

The detailed results can be seen here.