Welcome to Wales' Premier Athletic Club
together we are one

Welsh awards for Cardiff

Sunday 22 October 2017

At the annual Welsh Athletics awards dinner, held in Newport last night, Cardiff AAC collected more club and individual awards than any other club, including that of overall Welsh Club of the Year; presented by the individual Athlete of the Year, Cardiff's Aled Davies.

Jake Heyward, Bethan Davies, Sarah and David Omoregie, James Thie, Ryan Spencer Jones, Paul Darney, Peter Gregson and Graham Finlayson all received individual awards.

 Mark Gold receiving the Overall Club of the Year award from Aled Davies

In addition to the overall Club of the Year, Cardiff received the Junior Club of the Year (presented to chairman Bernie Plain) and Inclusivity Club of the Year (presented to Brian Dias).

Jake Heyward (junior male track & field athlete of the year) was rewarded for his outstanding season that included the European under 20 1500m gold medal while Sarah Omoregie was junior female track & field athlete of the year for her silver medal in the Commonwealth Youth Games. Sarah's older brother David was the senior male track and field athlete of the year but was unable to attend as he is currently training in Jamaica.

Endurance athlete of the year was Bethan Davies for her record breaking race walking performances and representation of Great Britain at the London World Championships.

James Thie (Endurance Performance Coach of the Year), Ryan Spencer Jones (International Performance Coach of the Year) and Paul Darney (Track & Field Performance Coach of the Year) were all honoured for their coaching contributions.

And, last, but by no means least, Peter Gregson received the Newcomer to Officiating award and Graham Finlayson the Off Track Official of the Year award.

Congratulations to all awards winners. We are proud of you.