Welcome to Wales' Premier Athletic Club
together we are one

Sam beats Harry for title

Sunday 28 January 2018

Cardiff's Sam Gordon outsprinted GB international Harry Aikines-Aryeetey to win the 60m final in 6.71 at the Welsh Athletics indoor championships at NIAC yesterday; having clocked a personal best of 6.70 in winning his heat. Jeremiah Azu (16), who has shown great form this year, was not overawed by the opposition and came third in the race and took the WA silver medal.

Earlier in the day, Ieuan Thomas and Tom Marshall celebrated their Commonwealth Games team selections with impressive wins in the 1500m and 800m respectively

The championships incorporated 4x200 relays for junior athletes and all four Cardiff teams qualified for the finals which will be held on 4th March, the under 15 boys (Ben Vincent, Jacob Reynolds, Thomas Charles and Luca Logue-Fonseca) and under 15 girls (Gabby Dickinson, Olivia Sugarman, Alana Lea and Darcy John-Cook) winning their heats in particularly impressive style.

In the field events, Jonathan Bailey chalked up another 2m plus clearance to win the Welsh high jump title and Gage Francis took the senior men's triple jump. Simeon Clarence hurt himself going for a big jump in the long jump but had already won the competition although not qualifying for the Welsh title.

Cardiff's medallists were:

Gold: Hannah Longden (SW 200m); Ieuan Thomas (SM 1500m); Tom Marshall (SM 800m); Sam Gordon (SM 60m); Shani Evans (U20 women's high jump); Jonathan Bailey (SM high jump); Gage Francis (SM triple jump).

Silver: Jacob Reynolds (U15 boys 800m); Harry Hillman (SM 60m hurdles); Lauren Evans (SW 60m hurdles); Nia Clatworthy (U17 women's 1500m); Ben Reynolds (U17 men's 800m); Jeremiah Azu (SM 60m); Eliza Durnell (U20 women's triple jump); Sarah Omoregie (SW shot put); Aled Davies (SM shot put).

Bronze: Naomi Reid (SW 800m); Isabel Breeden (SW 200m); Heddwen Daniel (SW 1500m); Seth Kelly (SM 400m); James Griffiths (SM 60m); Lauren Evans (SW high jump); Megan Hodgson (SW pole vault - personal best); Lucy Griffiths (SW shot put); Cameron Pamment (U20 men's shot put).

The official results can be seen here.