Welcome to Wales' Premier Athletic Club
together we are one

Grants for eight

Sunday 4 February 2018

Eight Cardiff AAC athletes have been awarded grants from the Ron Pickering memorial fund in the annual distribution that has been announced.

They are Jake Heyward, Sarah Omoregie, Kristian Jones, Jay Morse, Kiara Frizelle, Jeremiah Azu, Cassey Grimwade and Lana Culliford.

The fund was set up in memory of former Welsh national coach Ron Pickering and supports promising young athletes. In the 26 years since Ron's death the fund has raised and distributed around £2million in grants. Applications for the 2017 awards were at a record high and some £46,000 was allocated as grants.

A very high proportion of the young athletes supported by the fund have gone on to become household names and Olympic and World level athletes. Each of Cardiff's eight recipients has the potential to be successful and we wish them the best of luck.

Further information on the Ron Pickering Memorial Fund, including how to apply for a grant, can be found HERE.