Welcome to Wales' Premier Athletic Club
together we are one

More awards for Cardiff

Tuesday 25 October 2011

At last Saturday's Welsh Athletics AGM, held in Llandrindod Wells, several Cardiff members were honoured for their services to athletics in Wales. Dave Hawthorn (pictured receiving his award from Welsh Athletics President John Penny) was the Participation Coach of the Year, Graham Finlayson the Off Track Official of the Year, whilst Roger Grindle and Dic Evans were granted Meritorious Awards and Clive Williams received his Award of Honour that had been announced last year.

Participation Coach of the Year – DAVID HAWTHORN
David has been coaching for over 30yrs, 20 of those years as a Welsh Athletics National Event Coach and Welsh Team Manager. 2011 has seen many of David’s athletes achieve some of Wales’ highest ranked athletes on the Power of 10 League Tables; also, all of David’s athletes reached Welsh Championship finals collecting many medals along the way. Dave has been a stalwart of the club as coach and team manager and founded the Track Rats that has gone from strength to strength.

Dave Hawthorn award 2011





Off Track Official of the Year – GRAHAM FINLAYSON

Graham has given a lifetime to endurance running in Wales where his passion as an athlete has overflowed into organising events for many years now. He was the founder of the Cardiff 10K 26 yrs ago and more recently of the Cardiff Cross Challenge, now in its 15 year. Graham has been a pillar of the endurance community and has also received a BEM  for his contribution to the Territorial Army and this award is richly deserved.

Graham Finlayson







Meritorious Award - ROGER GRINDLE

Roger joined the club some fifteen years ago with his children and gradually developed an interest in coaching throwing events. He is a UKA Grade ll qualified coach. He is also a qualified official and is an ever present  when needed to help out at competitions. Roger is one of the unsung heroes of the sport and this award is richly deserved. He will be presented on a future occasion.

Roger Grindle






Meritorious Award - DIC EVANS

Dic has been a member of the club for very many years and, as an athlete, was an important member of the all conquering British League team in the 1970s as a steeplechaser. For the past 30 years he has been heavily involved in coaching and development in Aberystwith but still competes and, eighteen months ago, won the gold medal in the World Masters (60-65) half marathon championship in Canada.

Dic Evans








Award of Honour - CLIVE WILLIAMS

Clive's award was announced at the 2010 AGM and he was presented with it last Saturday. Clive has contributed a prodigious service to athletics at all levels and thoroughly deserved his Award.

Clive Williams award 2011





Wilkinson Sword - CARDIFF AAC

This award is made annually to the club that achieves the most successes in the Welsh Championships.

Peter Lane club award 2011








The club is very proud of these achievements. Congratulations to all.