Welcome to Wales' Premier Athletic Club
together we are one

11 in first 17 at Nos Galan

Tuesday 2 January 2018

Cardiff runners dominated the elite men's field in the annual Nos Galan races held in Mountain Ash on New Year's Eve, finishing eleven athletes in the first seventeen.

At the front of the race, Ieuan Thomas and Matt Clowes both held off last year's winner, Kristian Jones (Swansea), with Ieuan winning and Matt getting the verdict over Kristian but with the same chip time.

Mike Ward, home from university in the USA, was 4th, Carwyn Jones 6th, Dan Nash 8th, James Hunt 11th, Ciaran Lewis 12th, Mike Kershaw 13th, James Vincent 15th, Steve Morris 16th and Jac Smith 17th. There could have been no dispute about the team prizes.

In the elite senior women's race, Clara Evans was third.

There was a similar strong showing in the junior (14-15) race with Ben Reynolds finishing in second with Iwan Smith fifth and James Gold seventh. Nia Clatworthy was the first girl, with Lili Jones second, Emily Chirighin third, Bethany Gold fourth and Caitlin Chapman sixth.

Ben's brother Jacob won his age group race (12-13) with Ben Hughes 8th, Ieuan Rees 13th and Rhys Blow 14th. Jemima Robinson was third overall in this race and the first 12 year-old girl.

Other Cardiff performances included Millie Gold (3rd 10 year old); the third Reynolds, Oliver, first in th 8-9 race and Tim Fry, 6th in the fun run.

What a great way to finish the old year and look forward to 2018.

The official results can be seen here.